To Daydream

 

“To Daydream”, By Me

To wonder and dream, to ponder many things

To let your mind wander to and fro 

Down a path were roses grow

And thoughts take flight on golden wings.

In the night of winter, nature slept as soundly as a bear in its cave.  But as spring was born, the fields bloomed with rich color and the glow of Marigolds.  The air carried the scent of sweetness wherever it roamed and the clouds allowed the sun to peek over their gloomy curtains.  I longed to lay in the tall grass among the buds and pretend I lived right there with them.  The thrasher called to me from among its little hollows in the overgrown grass.  The bullfrogs and crickets beckoned me to bury my toes in the moist, fertile dirt.  The rabbits played among the wild flowers and begged for me to join them.  But still I could not answer their call.  For life’s duties held on to me strongly and would not loosen their grip.  Perhaps I would find time for the frolic of daydream in near future.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “To Daydream

  1. I love the poem you wrote.

    Check out my blog at:
    http://www.creativeturning.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

