Summer’s Long Rest

The season of summer is coming to a close.  Autumn is chasing away the heat, and bringing a fresh current of breeze that flows through the trees and makes them whisper a song of gratitude.

The glow of summer will fade, the rapidly growing green grass, the fruitful green trees and the gardens; they will all wither.

“For the grass withers and the flowers fade, but the Word of our God stands forever.”

Isaiah 40:8

I thought I would share a few verses from the Bible that I stumbled upon during my morning study.

” I wait for the LORD, my soul waits,
         And in His word I do hope.
  My soul waits for the Lord
         More than those who watch for the morning— 
         Yes, more than those who watch for the morning.”

Psalm 130:5-6

My Bible study leader was talking about waiting on the Lord to bring the right mate for you, instead of dating a million guys and watching as each one of them take a piece of your broken heart away.  She explained that we wait on the Lord for simple things to.  Once, while she was at the beach, she got up before sunrise and went out-of-doors to wait for the sun.  Slowly and gradually rays of light broke the darkness and a golden glow filled the clouds.  But she had to wait for quite a while.  Well in Psalms, I believe David is saying that we must wait for the Lord more than those who watch for the morning and he will do what he has promised in his Word.  He will never leave us nor forsake us.

“Let your conduct be without covetousness or fear; be content with suck things as you have.  For He Himself has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

“So may we boldly say:

The Lord is my helper;

I will not fear.

What can man do to me?”

Hebrews 13:5-6

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Summer’s Long Rest

  1. PaPa

    Hello Sunshine. Your computer clock must be advanced since you posted two hours after I received. Don’t forget to download pictures & send copies of family attached to email to me. Thanks. Love PaPa.

Leave a Reply

